BeckerGuides: Audiology and Deaf Education: Health Measurement Instruments

What is a Health Measurement Instrument?

Measurement instruments are defined by the Health and Psychosocial Instruments Database (HaPI) as questionnaires, psychological tests, health status indicators, genetic tests, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, inventories, rating scales, projective techniques, and vignettes/scenarios.

Databases

Educational Resource Information Center (ERIC)
ERIC offers search options for terms such as measurement, questionnaire, pain measurement, surveys, and includes the option of searching by a specific test instrument.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
HaPI is a major database provides ready access to information on measurement instruments.
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Mental Measurements Yearbook , Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.
National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR)
The HSRR database was designed for health care researchers and health sciences librarians seeking data resources used in health services research, the behavioral and social sciences and public health.
National Quality Measures Clearinghouse (NQMC)
NQMC, sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is a public repository for evidence-based quality measures and measure sets.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO offers a search option for searching of Tests and Measures as a search filter. From the main page, select “TM” from the Select a Field drop down menu box. Access is restricted to Danforth campus.

PubMed
PubMed offers search options for terms such as health surveys, data collection, and questionnaires, and includes the option of searching by a specific test instrument.