Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Becker Medical Library logotype
Library Quicklinks and Information

Audiology and Deaf Education

A guide for resources related to Audiology and Deaf Education.

Browsing for Books at Becker?

Want to browse the bookshelves at Becker Library for books related to Audiology or Deaf Education? Books are located on the Lower Level of the library.

WV 501 and P221 for Phonetics
WV 250 to WV 276 for Audiology (includes hearing aids and cochlear implants)
HV 2359 to HV 2855 for Deaf Education

Accessibility to Databases and Electronic Journals

Becker Medical Library

All electronic journals and databases subscribed to by Becker Library are accessible via wustl.edu network. Use proxy to access journals and databases from a non-wustl.edu network.

To locate journals, use the Washington University Libraries Catalog to find journals held by libraries on campus.

To locate databases, use the Becker Library A-Z Database List.

Danforth Campus Olin Library

PACS students have access to most of the journals and databases held by Olin Library. However, PACS students must use a wustl.edu network computer; Becker proxy will not allow for access to Olin Library materials.

To locate journals, use the Washington University Libraries Catalog to find journals held by libraries on campus.

To locate databases, use the Olin Library A-Z Database List.

Many electronic full text journals that are subscribed to by Becker Library and Olin Library are linked from our databases. This allows you to search in a database, then link from a citation in that database directly to the full-text article without exiting the database. Databases have different ways of noting full text availability depending on the publisher or vendor. Some databases display a link to the journal on the results page; others display the link in the abstract of the citation. Some links are icons; others are text based.

If you are unable to find an icon or if an icon does not lead you to the full text article, check the Catalog for the journal title. If neither library holds the journal, try searching for the article using Google. If the article is not found using Google, use Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) to order a copy of the article or contact Cathy Sarli.

Thieme eOtolaryngology

Thieme eOtolaryngology is a resource with new otolaryngology content being added as soon as the latest titles are available. Search across and within Thieme’s entire otolaryngology collection, including:

  • Over 60 illustrated procedures which provide step-by-step instruction on core techniques and approaches
  • Access to Thieme’s otolaryngology E-Book library.  Currently 78 titles and growing
  • Over 60 clinical cases available
  • More than 42,000 downloadable images, with legends and links to original sources, for easy integration into presentations and teaching materials
  • Almost 600 procedural technique videos

For each resource we currently have a concurrent user license for two users. When using a WUSM computer or the Becker Proxy, click the Login button to initiate a guest login. Both resources are optimized for mobile device compatibility. Registration for a free personal account while on a WUSM computer will allow you to access the resources while offsite as well as take advantage of many additional features. All logins count against the two concurrent user limits. Please logout when you are finished.