BeckerGuides: Medical Education Resources: Databases

Databases

Below you will find a list of databases that you may find useful for finding research articles and survey/assessment tools. Please note that you must be on the WUSM network or logged-in to a Becker Proxy account in order to access these databases (unless otherwise noted)

Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC)
ERIC is a database sponsored by the US Department of Education to provide access to educational-related literature. The link above will take you to the Proquest search interface via Olin Library. You can also access ERIC for free from eric.ed.gov
Embase
Includes extensive journal coverage in biomedicine, pharmacology, and international journals
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)
Provides access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields.
PsycInfo
Includes articles from psychology/psychiatry journals. Also a good source for finding assessment tools/instruments
PubMed@Becker
Use the PubMed@Becker link to see full-text link-outs to Becker's collection. The database is accessible from any internet connection (need to be on network to access some full text articles)

Auto Alerts

Many databases allow you to set up auto-search alerts. These can be useful if you would like to receive updated results on a research question or topic of interest. Below you will find instructions about setting up auto-search alerts for select databases. Contact Becker Library at askbecker@wustl.edu if you have questions or need assistance.

PubMed Search Alerts
This post explains how to set-up auto-alerts in PubMed
Embase Search Alerts
PsycInfo Search Alerts
Instructions for search alerts found on second page of this guide