Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Becker Medical Library logotype
Library Quicklinks and Information

EndNote: Citations and formatting

Instructional information with links to resources for EndNote

Citations and formatting

1. How do I fix the citation when I have an organizational name as author?

Double-click on the citation in the EndNote library (or select the citation and use Quick Edit) and add a comma after the entry in the author field to differentiate the organizational name from a person.

2. How do I reformat a centered bibliography or remove unwanted numbering?

  1. In MS Word, from the Home tab, open the Styles Pane
  2. Select a citation from the bibliography
  3. In the Styles Pane drop down menu, select the highlighted EndNote Bibliography
  4. Select the left Justify icon

To remove unwanted numbering, in the same window, open the Format drop down and select Numbering

3. I cannot directly import a citation into EndNote on my MacIntosh computer.

Use a browser other than Explorer or Safari.

4. Whenever I insert page numbers (or open a document that has page numbers) it automatically enters this formula: {page \* MERGEFORMAT}

1. Go to the File tab, then to options, then to advanced options, before clicking Show Document Content.

2. Unselect the box labeled "Show field codes instead of their values"

5. When I insert a citation into my Word document, the in-text citation has a number, and there is no bibliography created. The citation looks like this: {Wyatt, 1978 #3}.

  • In Word 2010,  go to the EndNote Tab > Bibliography > Instant Formatting. Turn on Instant Formatting
  • In Word 2013+,  Turn on Instant Formatting from the EndNote Toolbar

(Note: If you have installed a plug-in from another program such as Mendeley in Word, this may also interfere with proper formatting. Removing the plug-in should restore EndNote formatting.)

6. Changes I make to Citations and the bibliography in my Word document get overwritten by EndNote.

Manually typed changes will be lost when you close out of your document. Never manually edit citations or your reference list - it can cause complications with your library and document. To edit in-text citations you must follow the steps below:

  • Right-click on the item and choose ''Edit Citation'' from the drop-down menu. Alternatively, access the same command from the EndNote 20 tab in Word and choose ''Edit & Manage Citation(s)''.
  • You may need to click the ''Edit Citation'' button next to the reference.
  • If you are entering a prefix or suffix, you will need to include any spaces or punctuation. EndNote only displays text (or spaces) entered in these boxes. If you are adding page numbers, enter numerical values only (no 'p' or commas).

If the edits you need to make are not possible through the 'Edit Citations' command or by modifying the output style, you may need to remove the field codes (format as 'plain text'). The citations and the bibliography will become independent from your library, allowing you to make amendments manually. This should only be attempted when you are finished working with EndNote. Removing the field codes cuts the link between EndNote and Word, so subsequent adding or removing citations will not update your bibliography. Make a backup of the document to be safe, then do the following:

  • From Word's EndNote tab choose ''Convert Citations and Bibliography'' > ''Convert to Plain Text''.

7. How do I insert citations from more than one library? (Microsoft)

''Insert Selected Citation(s)'' inserts the highlighted citations in the foremost library window. To insert sources from a second library, bring it to the 'front' and highlight the references. Alternatively, you can use ‘'Find Citation(s)'’, which will search all open libraries.

8. The spacing of my in-text citations is incorrect when I use the prefix, suffix and page numbers boxes. 

To ensure spacing of your in-text citation is correct, you must manually input a space after the content in the prefix box and before the content in the suffix box. When adding page numbers ensure only numerical values are entered. Do not type: 'p' or use commas within numbers.

9. I have changed the output style from EndNote, but the style in my paper reverts to Annotated or another style I didn't choose. 

The output style set in EndNote will always be overwritten by the style set in the document. This means that while you may have changed your output style within EndNote desktop, the style in your document may revert to Annotated (or another style you did not choose). This occurs because EndNote assumes you may be working on more than one paper and each may require different styles. To change a document's style you need to change it within the document:

  • From the EndNote tab in your document select the output style you want to use from the Style drop-down menu.
  • Click the "Update Citations and Bibliography" to format the document using your selected style.

10. How do I change the spacing or font in my bibliography? 

From Word's Endnote tab, select the small box in the bottom right-hand corner to open the Configure Bibliography panel. Select the 'Layout' tab and make the desired changes.

11. How can I create chapter bibliographies? 

You can choose to:

  • create a complete bibliography at the end of each document (the default setting for almost all of the supplied output styles).
  • create a bibliography for each section in the document (as defined in the styles APA 6th (sections) and Chicago 15th B (sections).
  • create a bibliography for each section and also a complete bibliography at the end of the document.

If you need to change the setting in the style you are using in Microsoft, click on Tools > Output Styles > Edit 'Style' (where Style is the name of the Output Style you are using). Select the Sections option on the left pane to choose the appropriate settings for your style. When you are finished editing, 'Save and Close' the Style from the File menu. 
For chapter bibliographies to appear, ensure the document is divided into sections. For example, make each chapter its own section:

  • position your cursor at the end of the chapter. From the Page Layout tab in Word, choose the 'Breaks' dropdown menu, and select one of the four options under 'Section Breaks' : Next Page, Continuous, Even Page, or Odd Page.

If you need to change the setting in the style you are using in macOS, click on Edit > Output Styles > Edit 'Style' (where Style is the name of the Output Style you are using). Select the Sections option on the left pane to choose the appropriate settings for your style. When you are finished editing, 'Save and Close' the Style from the File menu.
For chapter bibliographies to appear, ensure the document is divided into sections. For example, make each chapter its own section:

  • from the Page Layout tab in Word, choose the 'Breaks' dropdown menu, and select one of the four options under 'Section Breaks' : Next Page, Continuous, Even Page, or Odd Page.

If you want a master bibliography in addition to chapter bibliographies, you will need to do the following:

  • Using the original copy of your chapter documents (the ones containing field codes), choose Unformat Citation(s) from the EndNote toolbar.
  • From the EndNote tab select 'Convert Citations and Bibliography' > 'Convert to Unformatted Citations'. The citations will revert to their temporary format and the bibliography will be removed.
  • Merge all the unformatted document chapters into a master document.
  • In the master document, choose Format Bibliography from the EndNote toolbar.
  • From the EndNote tab choose 'Update Citations and Bibliography'.
  • When complete, make a backup of the master document.
  • Choose 'Remove Field Codes' from the EndNote toolbar to make this copy plain text.
  • From the Endnote tab choose 'Convert Citations and Bibliography' > 'Convert to Plain Text'.
  • The chapter bibliographies can be copied into the new master document from the copy of your chapter documents with the field codes removed.

12. My journal names are not coming out as capitalized?

If One Search sends a record to EndNote with the name of the journal in sentence case rather than title case, editing the record in EndNote will not stop the journal appearing with the wrong capitalisation in your Word document. This is because EndNote remembers the capitalisation of journal names in the Journals Term List.  You will need to edit the Journals Term List before the journal name will display correctly in your Word document. Edit Journals Term List - EndNote 20

Library tab > Open Term Lists > Journal Terms List > Highlight the journal name > Edit Term... > Edit the journal name in the top box (Full Journal:) > OK Close

13. How do I fix quotation marks in my EndNote formatted reference list?

EndNote can't produce smart quotation marks, but you can fix this problem inside Word. First, you need to make sure your Proofing options are set to AutoCorrect straight quotes with smart quotes (see Word's instructions here). Then you can use the Replace control on your Home Ribbon to find and replace all quotation marks (simply replace " with "). Hit "Replace All" to update all of your quotations marks at once. 

Please note - EndNote will correct the quotation marks back to straight quotes every time it refreshes its connection to your document, so for your sanity you should leave this step until you have finished adding and editing references using EndNote and have created a Plain Text copy of the document to make your final touches.