BeckerGuides: Preprints: Where to Find Preprints

Preprint Repositories

arXiv
arXiv is a preprint server for physics, math, computer sciences, quantitative biology and statistics.
Authorea
Authorea is a platform for publishing articles, data, figures and preprints.
bioRxiv
bioRxiv is a preprint server for biology.
ChemRxiv
ChemRxiv is a preprint repository for chemistry.
Figshare
Figshare is a repository where users can make all of their research outputs available in a citable, shareable and discoverable manner.
medRxiv
medRxiv is a preprint server for the health sciences.
Open Science Framework (OSF)
WUSTL is a member of OSF, a free, open platform to support your research and enable collaboration. OSF contains over two million preprints from a number of preprint repositories. Use your WUSTL Key to register for an account.
Preprints.org
Preprints is a platform dedicated to making early versions of research outputs permanently available and citable. Content on Preprints is not peer-reviewed and can receive feedback from readers
Research Square
Research Square contains over 25,000 preprints and allows authors to submit preprints and make edit prior to peer review in a journal.
SciELO Preprints
SciELO is an multidisciplinary international preprint server.
SSRN
SSRN is a multidisciplinary preprint server.

Where to Find Preprints?

Below are resources where users can search for preprints.

bioRxiv
bioRxiv is a preprint server for biology.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar contains preprints and each result will need to be checked to confirm the preprint status.
iSearch COVID-19 Portfolio
The iSearch COVID-19 portfolio is NIH’s comprehensive, expert-curated source for publications and preprints related to either COVID-19 or the novel coronavirus SARS-CoV-2. The COVID-19 Portfolio tool leverages the cutting-edge analytical capability of the iSearch platform, with its powerful search functionality and faceting, and includes articles from PubMed and preprints from arXiv, bioRxiv, ChemRxiv, medRxiv, Research Square, and SSRN.
iSearch COVID-19 Portfolio: WUSTL Publications and Preprints
This link provides results for WUSTL publications and preprints from the iSearch COVID-19 Portfolio.
medRxiv
medRxiv is a preprint server for the health sciences.
PeerJ Preprints
PeerJ Preprints is an archive of previously published preprints and offers search options. Note: PeerJ is no longer publishing preprints.
Preprints by WUSTL Authors in bioRxiv and medRxiv
This collection includes bioRxiv and medRxiv papers from authors at Washington University in St. Louis.
PubMed
Use the query of: "preprint"[Publication Type] to find records for preprints in PubMed. PubMed records include a link to PubMed Central to view the full text of the preprint.
PubMed Central (PMC)
Use the query of: preprint[filter] to find preprints in PMC.
Rxivist
Rxivist combines preprints from bioRxiv with data from Twitter to help find the papers being discussed in your field.

New NLM Preprint Pilot Project

The National Library of Medicine (NLM) launched a pilot project to test the viability of making preprints resulting from NIH-funded research related to SARS-CoV-2 virus and COVID-19 research available via PubMed Central (PMC) in 2020. As of March 2024, all NIH-funded preprints will be available in PMC.

Preprints: Where to Find Preprints

Where to Find Preprints

Preprint Repositories

Where to Find Preprints?

New NLM Preprint Pilot Project

NIH Preprint Pilot Expands to Include Preprints Across NIH-Funded Research

NIH Preprint Pilot Accelerates and Expands Discovery of Research Results