BeckerGuides: Quantifying the Impact of My Publications: Resources

Resources

CINAHL
CINAHL offers a Cited References feature that provides a list of citations that cite a particular publication in the CINAHL database.

Essential Science Indicators
Essential Science Indicators provides access to a comprehensive compilation of essential science performance statistics and science trends. The chief indicators of output, or productivity, are journal article publication counts. For influence and impact measures, Essential Science Indicators employs both total citation counts and cites per paper scores.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar allows for searching of a particular work or author and retrieves results from a variety of sources such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, meeting abstracts, web sites, gray literature, PPTs and other formats. It also allows users to search within cited works. Select the "Cited by" link and selecting the "Search within articles citing...XYZ work" checkbox to discover the impact of a work. A feature of Google Scholar is Google Scholar Citations which allows users to create a personal publication profile which allows for generation of citation reports. See the Establishing Your Author Name tab.

PsycINFO
PsycINFO offers a Cited Reference tool that allows for location of cited works indexed in PsycINFO. Use the Cited References feature to find a work, then select Find Citing Articles.
PubMed Central
PMC offers a feature that allows for location of citing works in PMC. From the record page for a work, use the Cited By Other Articles in PMC feature to find other citing works in PMC.
Science Direct
Science Direct is a database that contains over 25% of the world’s science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information (journals and books) published by Elsevier and other publishers. ScienceDirect offers a search feature that displays cited references (journal articles or books) for a specific author or publication.
SCOPUS
SCOPUS provides evidence of collaboration with other scientists and organizations, publication productivity, cited-by works, the h-index and tools for creating citation graphs. Scopus also offers a Citation Tracker feature that allows for a listing of articles, web sources and patents that cite a publication since 1996. The Citation Tracker feature also allows for generation of a Citation Overview chart and for removal of self-citations from the overall citation counts.

Web of Science Core Collection
Web of Science provides evidence of collaboration with other scientists and institutions, publication productivity, cited-by works, the h-index and also includes tools for creating citation maps. A Cited Reference Search will provide the number of times a particular publication has been cited in the Web of Science database since its publication. According to Thomson, a Cited Reference Search will “. . . discover how a known idea or innovation has been confirmed, applied, improved, extended, or corrected.”

iCite
iCite is a tool that analyzes a group of papers using PMIDs. It provides the number of articles, articles per year, citations per year, and Relative Citation Ratio, (RCR), a field-normalized metric that shows the citation impact of one or more articles relative to the average NIH-funded paper.
idR Measuring and Mapping Interdisciplinary Research
idR offers overlay maps of science as a method to explore the degree of interdisciplinarity of a set of publications from Thomson Reuters Web of Science data or a Pajek vector file. The overlay technique visualizes the spread of publications over the global map of science, i.e. the structure of science as obtained from the analysis of cross-citations between disciplines.
Publish or Perish
Publish or Perish is a software program that retrieves and analyzes academic citations. It uses Google Scholar to obtain the raw citations, then analyzes these and presents a variety of statistics.