BeckerGuides: Global Health Resources: Databases/Journals

Global Health Journals

Here are a selection of journals pertinent to global health topics and issues. Note, except for open access journals, you must be on the WUSM network or log-in to a Becker proxy account to access the titles listed below. You should be able to access journals from Olin while on network. Please contact us if you experience any problems accessing full text journals.

Journals @ Becker

Interested in other journal titles? Search the entire Becker journal collection in our journal catalog. Search by title, browse the collection alphabetically, or search by DOI or PubMed ID (PMID) number.

Databases

These databases (with the exception of PubMed) are restricted to members of the WUSM community. They can be used to search for journal articles and other sources of information

PubMed
PubMed is an interface for searching Medline, a biomedical database produced by the National Library of Medicine. Contains over 23 million citations.

Embase This link opens in a new window
Embase is a up-to-date database covering international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day and contains over 32 million indexed records, more than 8,500 currently indexed peer-reviewed journals, and over two million conference abstracts.
Access restricted to WUSM.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library includes a collection of evidence based medicine databases:

Database of Systematic Reviews
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
NHS Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED)

Scopus
Scopus is a very broad database with over 50 million records, covering 21,000 journal titles. Coverage includes medicine, science, technology, social sciences, and arts/humanities. Also contains useful author tools, including impact scores.
PsycInfo
PsycInfo contains citations for journals, books, and technical reports for the fields of psychiatry, psychology, and sociology.

Bulletins

Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
The MMWR, produced by the CDC, contains data on specific diseases as reported by state and territorial health departments. Also included are reports on topics of international, and public health interest. Users can subscribe to a free electronic version of the weekly report, or can subscribe to a RSS feed.
The Weekly Epidemiological Record (WER)
The WER, produced by the World Health Organization, is a weekly publication summarizing epidemiological information on cases and outbreaks worldwide. Users can download a free version of the record each Friday, or can subscribe to an email version.