Tutorial Videos Library (Becker)

General Help Videos(Remote access log

Other Useful Resources

NetAnatomy is designed to teach human anatomy to students of the health professions

Pedro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database

Washington University Libraries: Olin (Main)

OTseeker is a databse that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trails relevant to occupational therapy.

All Research

All research to some extent relies on the results of previous research endeavors and scientific inquiry. The record of these results in biomedical research is best found in the published health sciences literature. A search of this literature, therefore, should be an integral part of any research undertaking.

Schuster, D. P. P. W. J., & Md (2005). Translational and experimental clinical research

The Key To Good Literature Searching: Get To Know Your Librarian

"The savvy investigator begins his or her search of the literature by contacting --in person (ideally), by phone, by e-mail, or on the Web-the nearest health sciences librarian (or information professional)." Schuster, D. P. P. W. J., & Md (2005). Translational and experimental clinical research (chapter 2 by Christina Sullivan and Neville Prendergast)

Key Elements in any literature search strategy

Select A Database

CINAHL
CINAHL Plus provides indexing for 3,123 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheets. Searchable cited references for more than 1,190 journals are also included. Full text material includes nearly 80 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. For more information look at the: CINAHL Tutorials

OVIDSP Online

PubMed
PubMed is a free resource supporting the search and retrieval of biomedical and life sciences literature with the aim of improving health–both globally and personally. Citations in PubMed primarily stem from the biomedicine and health fields, and related disciplines such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

The PubMed database contains more than 36 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. It does not include full text journal articles; however, links to the full text are often present when available from other sources, such as the publisher's website or PubMed Central (PMC). To see and use the Get it@Becker button to test for full text at Becker, use PubMed links from the Library's website.

PubMed facilitates searching across several NLM literature resources: MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC) and Bookshelf.

EMBASE

SCOPUS
SCOPUS is a large bibliographic database of scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature and includes abstracts to conference proceedings, trade publications, books and patents.
Web of Science Core Collection
The Web of Science Core Collection searches the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, the Arts & Humanities Citation Index and the Emerging Sources Citation Index (covers 5 years ago – present).
Follow to search only the three primary collections: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index

The Web of Science Core Collection is on Web of Science, a comprehensive research platform that allows access to and concurrent searching of multiple databases. Find training materials here: Web of Science Platform Training resources

Becker Library Journals (Print & Electronic)
All Journal Titles – Searches for all journal titles, print and electronic, available through Becker Medical Library.
More Databases

Measure Instrument Tools

HaPI Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) is a database that provides access to informationon approximately 15,000 measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules,checklists, coding schemes, rating scales, etc.) in the fields of health and psychosocialsciences.

MMYMental Measurements Yearbook produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments.

Additonal Information at UNC Health Science Library