Anatomy: Atlases

BrainMaps.org is an interactive multiresolution next-generation brain atlas that is based on over 20 million megapixels of sub-micron resolution, annotated, scanned images of serial sections of both primate and non-primate brains and that is integrated with a high-speed database for querying and retrieving data about brain structure and function over the internet. Currently featured are complete brain atlas datasets for various species, including Macaca mulatta, Chlorocebus aethiops, Felis catus, Mus musculus, Rattus norvegicus, and Tyto alba.

This syllabus is organized into functional chapters suitable as a laboratory guide, with an instructive caption accompanying each image. It contains 3-D computer graphic reconstructions of brain material; MRI scans; tissue sections, some enhanced with pathways; gross brain specimens and dissections; and summary drawings. Chapters include Topography and Development, Vessels and Ventricles, Spinal Cord, Brainstem and Cranial Nerves, Sensory and Motor Systems, Cerebellum and Basal Ganglia, Eye Movements, Hypothalamus and Limbic System, Cortical Connections, and Forebrain and MRI Scan Serial Sections. From the Department of Biological Structure and the Integrated Academic Information Management Systems (IAIMS) Program, University of Washington, Seattle, Washington.

Part of the Brain Biodiversity Bank at Michigan State University. The Brain Biodiversity Bank refers to the repository of images of and information about brain specimens contained in the collections associated with the National Museum of Health and Medicine at the Armed Forces Institute of Pathology in Washington, DC. These collections include, besides the Michigan State University Collection, the Welker Collection from the University of Wisconsin, the Yakovlev-Haleem Collection from Harvard University, the Meyer Collection from the Johns Hopkins University, and the Huber-Crosby and Crosby-Lauer Collections from the University of Michigan.

Each illustration has been fully indexed using medical subject headings (MeSH), and techniques of illustration, artists, and engravers have been identified whenever possible. There are ninety-five individual titles represented, ranging in date from 1522 to 1867.

Copyright and other rights in the digital images, underlying encoded text, indexing and display of the materials in the Anatomia online collection are held by the University of Toronto Library. The images may be used for the purposes of research, private study, or general interest. For these purposes the images may be viewed and printed without prior permission. Any other use, including publication, redistribution and/or broadcast in any form, including electronic, requires written permission.

A digital project designed to give Internet users access to high quality images from important anatomical atlases in the Library's collection. The project offers selected images from NLM's atlas collection, not the entire books, with an emphasis on images and not texts. Atlases and images are selected primarily for their historical and artistic significance, with priority placed upon the earliest and/or the best edition of a work in NLM's possession.

This entirely Web-delivered application offers an unparalleled understanding of the human body and features a fully interactive 3D human body model. Site requires users to register (free).