Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Becker Medical Library logotype
Library Quicklinks and Information

My Bibliography: Adding Citations

Was Your Conference Canceled?

If a conference that you were scheduled to present your abstract was canceled due to COVID-19, you are able to cite the abstract as originally planned and add a note that the conference was canceled. My Bibliography follows the NLM Citing Medicine Citation Style. The NLM’s guidance for canceled conferences is to note “[Conference session canceled].” after the title of the abstract. Example:

  • Joubert, D. J. (2020, May 10–15). Best Practices for Dealing with Biomedical Data [Conference session canceled]. 12th Annual Congress of Data Scientist, Paris, France.

In My Bibliography, using the Add Citation Manually tool, select the template for Meeting Abstracts, and add “[Conference session canceled].” after the title in the Title of Paper field.

See Citing Medicine: Citing Conferences.

Adding Citations

Citations for journal articles and research products should be added to My Bibliography as soon as possible.

Why?

  • Monitor compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy for applicable works.
  • Auto-populate a SciENcv profile/biosketch with research products.
  • Generate a complete listing of all research products for the URL to published works for the NIH Biosketch.

To add a citation to a research product in My Bibliography, select the Add Citations tool. From there, a drop-down menu box will appear and prompt you to add the citation for works from PubMed, research products not indexed by PubMed, or from a file in the MEDLINE or RIS (Research Information Systems) format.

Guidance and Screenshots:

NOTE: Citations associated with the awards for a My Bibliography's owner will be automatically added to the My Bibliography account (if the award information is correctly noted on the work). 

Manually Entered Citations

Some research products are not found in PubMed and the citation will need to be manually entered using a template from My Bibliography. To add a citation to a research product in My Bibliography, select the Add Citations tool and select Manually from the drop-down  menu. 

From there, a listing of templates will appear. Select the appropriate template for the research product and enter the publication information noted on the template fields.

Manually entered citations display as "Manually-entered" in the Publication Compliance Status box to the right of the citation. The pencil icon was removed in May 2019.

Research Products

What are Research Products?

  • Journal articles
  • Books/chapters
  • Patents
  • Presentations
  • Meeting abstracts/posters
  • Audio or video products
  • Data and research materials
  • Interim research products (preprints, preregistered protocols, etc.)

Interim Research Products

NIH allows for reporting of interim research products, including preprints, (Reporting Preprints and Other Interim Research Products, NOT-OD-17-050) where other research products are cited. This includes the NIH Biosketch and Section C of the Research Performance Progress Report (RPPR), among others. The change is effective for all applications submitted for the May 25, 2017 due date and beyond, and for RPPRs submitted on or after May 25, 2017.

  • The NIH encourages investigators to use interim research products but does not require their use.
  • Preprints do not apply under the NIH Public Access Policy.
  • This guide notice does not apply to clinical trial registration. See ClinicalTrials.gov about registration of clinical trial protocols.

Also see: FAQs on Interim Research Products.

TIP: Use the "Add Citations" tool in My Bibliography to manually enter citations for Interim Research Products to your My Bibliography.

Can An Award be Associated with a Work After Publication?

Can an award be associated with a work After publication?

The answer is YES.

Any applicable award/s can be retrospectively associated to a work using NCBI My Bibliography's “Add Award” OR "Edit Status" features noted in the Publication Compliance Status box for the citation.  See Associating Funding to your Publications.

Video for Adding Preprints to My Bibliography