BeckerGuides: Occupational Therapy: Searching the Literature

The Key To Good Literature Searching: Get To Know Your Librarian

"The savvy investigator begins his or her search of the literature by contacting --in person (ideally), by phone, by e-mail, or on the Web-the nearest health sciences librarian (or information professional)." Schuster, D. P. P. W. J., & Md (2005). Translational and experimental clinical research (chapter 2 by Christina Sullivan and Neville Prendergast)

Research

All research to some extent relies on the results of previous research endeavors and scientific inquiry. The record of these results in biomedical research is best found in the published health sciences literature. A search of this literature, therefore, should be an integral part of any research undertaking.

Schuster DP, Powers WJ. Translational and experimental clinical research. Philadelphia: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins; 2005.

Select A Database

CINAHL
CINAHL Plus provides indexing for 3,123 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheets. Searchable cited references for more than 1,190 journals are also included. Full text material includes nearly 80 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.

CINAHL Tutorials

OVIDSP Online

PubMed
PubMed Medline is the National Library of Medicine’s search service that provides access to over 17 million citations from 5,000 titles in Medline, Premedline, and other related databases. Coverage dates from 1949-present; with some earlier citations. Searching is available to anyone but linking to full text content is limited to WU authenticated users.

EMBASE

SCOPUS
SCOPUS is a large bibliographic database of scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature and includes abstracts to conference proceedings, trade publications, books and patents.
Web of Science
Web of Science allows for concurrent searching of the following bibliographic databases: Science Citation Index,
Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

Becker Library Journals (Print & Electronic)
All Journal Titles – Searches for all journal titles, print and electronic, available through Becker Medical Library.
More Databases

Resources

CINAHL Plus --Limit search box to Instrumentation (e.g Berg Balance Test--IN Instrumentation)

HaPI Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) is a database that provides access to informationon approximately 15,000 measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules,checklists, coding schemes, rating scales, etc.) in the fields of health and psychosocialsciences.

MMY Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests In Print, produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).

PsycINFO--Limit search box to TM Tests and Measures(Berg Balance Test--TM Tests and Measures)

PsycTESTS An unparalleled resource for psychological measures, scales, and instrumentation tools

Tutorials Online

DATABASES: Interfaces are constantly being changed, revised and updated!