It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These subscription sites are accessible to WUSM faculty, staff and students. Please review copyright statements on the site before using the image. Most of the sites permit users to download the images for non-commercial instructional purposes, as long as the source of the image is included.
Over 50,000 high-quality medical images (photos, videos, tables, graphs, and more) from the medical books on ClinicalKey. From the search bar dropdown (the default setting is "All Types") select "Multimedia."
Images from both the Medical School and Danforth campuses, from Washington University's Office of Public Affairs. The photos on this site are provided free for purposes of advancing the University’s mission.
The Open-i service of the National Library of Medicine enables search and retrieval of abstracts and images (including charts, graphs, clinical images, etc.) from the open source literature, and biomedical image collections.
Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) in NLM Digital Collections provides online access to images from the historical collections of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. IHM includes image files of a wide variety of visual media including fine art, photographs, engravings, and posters that illustrate the social and historical aspects of medicine dating from the 15th to 21st century.
Wellcome Images is one of the world's richest and most unique collections containing historical images from the Wellcome Library as well as over 40,000 high-quality images from the clinical and biomedical sciences selected from the UK's leading teaching hospitals and research institutions.
Approximately 4,500 full page plates and other significant illustrations of human anatomy selected from the Jason A. Hannah and Academy of Medicine collections in the history of medicine at the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library, University of Toronto.
Each illustration has been fully indexed using medical subject headings (MeSH), and techniques of illustration, artists, and engravers have been identified whenever possible. There are ninety-five individual titles represented, ranging in date from 1522 to 1867.
Copyright and other rights in the digital images, underlying encoded text, indexing and display of the materials in the Anatomia online collection are held by the University of Toronto Library. The images may be used for the purposes of research, private study, or general interest. For these purposes the images may be viewed and printed without prior permission. Any other use, including publication, redistribution and/or broadcast in any form, including electronic, requires written permission.
PHDIL, the Philadelphia Historical Digital Image Library, is a grant-funded collaborative effort between the Scott Memorial Library of Thomas Jefferson University and The Historical Society of Pennsylvania.
Includes scenes from Philadelphia hospitals in the early 20th century and military hospitals; views of 19th and early 20th century anatomy/dissection labs; nurses in practice, and pre-1945 portraits of alumni, faculty, and trustees of Thomas Jefferson University.
The project offers selected images from NLM's atlas collection, not the entire books, with an emphasis on images and not texts. Atlases and images are selected primarily for their historical and artistic significance, with priority placed upon the earliest and/or the best edition of a work in NLM's possession.
Suggest a Resource
Would you like to suggest a resource for this Guide?