Skip to main content
Becker Medical Library logotype
Library Quicklinks and Information

Classes, Online Tutorials and Videos

 

 

 

 

 

Regularly Scheduled Classes
Register Online

Live Demo: NCBI My Bibliography
Spring 2018
Farrell Learning and Teaching Center
Noon to 1:00pm
Description: 

Are you interested in learnig more about NCBI My Bibliography?  My Bibliography is a tool for managing citations and can be used to:

  • complete a list of citations for articles and research products using PubMed
  • track compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy
  • generate a list of citations for a NIH biosketch
  • populate the RPPR for reporting purposes

The session will start with a live demo of My Bibliography followed by a question/answer session.  Feel free to bring your laptop to follow along with the demo or for troubleshooting.  Limit of 30.
Live Demo: NCBI My Bibliography Registration


NIH and Other Public Access Policies
Spring 2018
Farrell Learning and Teaching Center
Noon to 1:00 pm

Description:

Are you preparing a manuscript arising from NIH-funded research? Do you have other sources of grant funding such as the American Heart Association or the Department of Defense?  If so, you may be required to comply with public access policies issued by these organizations. This session will provide an overview of the NIH Public Access Policy and other public access policies including the steps involved with compliance. Limit of 30.

NIH and Other Public Access Policies Registration


Scopus
Spring 2018
Farrell Learning and Teaching Center
Noon to 1 pm.
Description:

Are you interested in learning more about Scopus, our largest citation database of peer-reviewed literature? Scopus is our largest citation database of peer-reviewed literature.  This session will provide an introduction to Scopus and its many tools available for researchers. Registrants are encouraged to bring their laptops. Limit of 30.

Scopus Registration


NIH Biosketch and NCBI SciENcv

The session will review the instructions for creating a biosketch in the NIH format and include a review of NCBI SciENcv, a tool to generate a biosketch. 
(Instructors:  Cathy Sarli and Amy Suiter )

 

 Contact Cathy Sarli or Amy Suiter to schedule any of the following classes! 

  • Author Rights
    Do you have a manuscript that you are preparing for publication?  Are you aware that you can retain rights to your work?  Authors are encouraged to retain the rights they need in order to reuse and disseminate their work in connection with academic and professional activities.

  • Selecting a Journal for Publication
    Are you considering submitting a manuscript for publication but on the fence as to which journals to submit to?  Which journal will reach your target audience?  Which journal allows you to retain rights to your work?  These points along with others will be reviewed to help you select a journal for publication.
  • SCOPUS: a Tool for Authors
    This session will demonstrate tools for authors in SCOPUS, a large interdisciplinary citation database that indexes from nearly 25,000 journal titles and contains 60 million citations and other materials.  Among the questions that can be answered using Scopus are:  Who is citing my work?  How can I identify potential collaborators? What is my h-index?

     
  • Web of Science
    Web of Science is a powerful interdisciplinary database that indexes from nearly 12,000 journals.  Web of Science coverage also includes conference proceedings, book reviews, and other publications.  Among the questions that can be answered using Web of Science are: Who is citing my work? How can I identify potential collaborators?  What is my h-index?
  • Who is Citing Your Work?
    Are you interested in tracking your research by finding out who is citing your work?  Knowing how your research is being used in the scientific literature can also be of value for consideration of tenure and promotion, progress reports, quantifying the return on research funding or for justification for future requests for funding.  This session will demonstrate tools that authors can use to track how their research is being cited.
  • Using Publication Data to Measure Productivity and Impact
    Do you need to provide a report on your publications or include an impact statement in a grant renewal?  This presentation will review how to use Scopus or Web of Science to create reports to demonstrate productivity and impact.