Regularly Scheduled Classes
PubMed is a database that provides comprehensive coverage of biomedical literature. During this session you will learn how to effectively and efficiently search PubMed. Topics covered include: creating/using a MyNCBI account, understanding how to use medical subject heading (MeSH), tips for constructing an effective search, how to access full text articles, and using PubMed Clinical Queries. Even those with some experience searching PubMed should learn something new. (Instructor: Angela Hardi)
Upcoming Sessions: TBA
Searching the Literature: Beyond Medline
This workshop will expose you to the basics of searching interdisciplinary databases to answer specific questions. Database coverage will include the Web of Science, Psyclnfo, Social Work Abstract, Academic Premiere, and SCOPUS! Learn how to create an effective search strategy after formulating a question or hypothesis that defines your topic using indexing terms (subject headings). Additionally, learn ways to manage your references.(Instructor: Kim Lipsey)
Upcoming Sessions: Thursday, April 19th: 10:00-12:00, FLTC 602. Register here: https://becker.wustl.edu/civicrm/event/info?id=275&reset=1
Searching OVID Medline
OVID provides a user friendly interface to searching the Medline database. In this session you will learn how the OVID search system automatically maps words to the correct index term for more relevant search results. You will also learn how to take a focused question and create a search strategy where you will use features such as "explode", "focus" or limits such as publication year or type. Finally you will learn to display, save, print or email your results. (Instructor: Kim Lipsey)
Upcoming Sessions: Wednesday, May 9th: 10:00-12:00, FLTC 602. Register here: https://becker.wustl.edu/civicrm/event/info?id=276&reset=1
Contact Education Coordinator, Kim Lipsey, to schedule any of the following classes :
Critical Appraisal of Medical Research
Students will learn the basics of study design and methods as a basis for how to read research articles with a critical eye to decipher strength of evidence and clinical applicability.
Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health
This class offers an introduction to CINAHL, an allied health and nursing database, including PICO, Boolean logic, using CINAHL terms and natural language searching. Learn to utilize limits and tips and tricks to access full text articles.
Get a basic overview of the steps involved in conducing a systematic review and learn about library services available to support them.