The purpose of the program is to support a one-year mentored research fellowship for clinical investigators studying diseases and conditions in developing countries. Several training sites are available through the Vanderbilt-Emory-Cornell-Duke consortium
The Shope Fellowship is available for post-doctoral fellows (PhD, MD, or DVM) to support a short-term research project in the tropics. Preference for the award is given to those who are studying arboviral diseases (they also except proposals to study emerging infectious diseases).
The HEAL Initiative, supported by the University of California San Francisco, provided a 2 year fellowship experience. The fellowship includes field work both domestically and internationally, and can lead to a Masters in Public Health degree.
The Mount Sinai Global Health Teaching Fellowship is a one-year program designed to provide physicians with the knowledge and skills to become professionals in global health. The fellow will focus on teaching techniques that improves the clinical practice of physicians, nurses, other para-health professionals such as community health workers.
USAID Global Health fellows receive funding for two years to work in the USAID office in Washington D.C. and at the agency’s various missions around the world. This fellowship may be most relevant for those interested in learning about the administration side of providing healthcare in developing nations.
Applications are welcomed from physicians all specialties and 1 to 2 are admitted annually. The fellowship focus is to develop global health leaders in a particular area of concentration. The two-year training program includes a customized combination of field work, clinical participation at MGH, and didactics such as advanced degrees in public health or public policy, tropical medicine, and research mentorship.
The three-year fellowship includes field-based research, courses in research methods, and teaching and clinical service at Weill Cornell New York-Presbyterian Hospital. Click on the link for more information.
This elective provides an opportunity for internal medicine residents and infectious disease fellows to work in a resource-limited setting and provide general and specialized medical care in a country with a generalized HIV epidemic. The goals are to learn how to deliver quality care in a resource-limited setting, to enrich the medical training and experience of participating residents and local health staff, to fortify the clinician-educator role of participating residents, to encourage career paths in global health and research, and to provide physician support for Scottish Livingstone (District) Hospital in Botswana. $1000 travel awards are available through the program.
First year students can apply to receive a $3000 scholarship grant for an international medical experience during the summer between their first and second years. The Dean’s office also offers an additional $1,731 in funding for those who will be engaged in research while abroad.
The Summer Research Program, offered via the Center for Global Health and Infectious Diseases, offers pre-med and medical students the opportunity to widen their knowledge of public health and to work on a research project with top faculty at the School of Medicine and Institute for Public Health. The program lasts for 8 weeks and attendees receive a $4,000 stipend and a metro pass.
The Hubert Global Health Fellowship provides funding for second and third year medical students to experience public health work in a developing country. The fellowship lasts for one year and includes work done at the home institution, a short course at the CDC, and a 6 to 12 week field assignment.
The Kean Travel Fellowship provides funding for medical students who arrange clinical tropical medicine or tropical medicine research electives in areas afflicted by diseases or illnesses common in tropical regions. Recipients receive a $1000 stipend and have their travel expenses covered
The global health programs, offered by CFHI, offers first-hand experience working alongside physicians and public health experts in developing countries. Scholarships are available via CFHI to attend one of their programs.
The Rogers Fellowship provides a $4,000 grant to support summer research projects. Fellowship awardees are expected to work on research projects that “contribute to the health of communities, and address the human needs of underserved or disadvantaged patients or populations.”
The International Clinical Research Fellowship (ICRF) program provides fellowships for U.S.-based medical students to take a year out from school to conduct mentored clinical research in developing countries.
These awards were established to promote the expansion of research in public health and clinical research in resource-limited settings. The program is designed for candidates who are currently enrolled in medical school or in a graduate-level program and who are interested in global health.