Skip to main content
Becker Medical Library logotype
Library Quicklinks and Information

NIH Public Access Policy: My Bibliography

New Updates

My NCBI — New Features for My Bibliography and Other Citations

NCBI has enhanced My Bibliography and Other Citations with two improvements: a search and select tool to add citations from PubMed and an option to add citations in bulk using files that have citations in the MEDLINE or RIS (Research Information Systems) format. These features were developed to help you manage your My Bibliography and Other Citations collections allowing you to add PubMed citations directly in My Bibliography and Other Citations collections, and to upload citations in bulk using a file, which is especially useful if your publications are not present in PubMed. (2016 April 25)

See "Adding Citations from a File"

Interim Research Products

A recent notice from the NIH (Reporting Preprints and Other Interim Research Products, NOT-OD-17-050) indicates that interim research products, including preprints, can be cited where other research products are cited. This includes the NIH Biosketch and Section C of the Research Performance Progress Report (RPPR), among others. The change is effective for all applications submitted for the May 25, 2017 due date and beyond, and for RPPRs submitted on or after May 25, 2017.

  • The NIH encourages investigators to use interim research products but does not require their use.
  • Preprints do not apply under the NIH Public Access Policy.
  • This guide notice does not apply to clinical trial registration. See ClinicalTrials.gov about registration of clinical trial protocols.

Also see: FAQs on Interim Research Products.

TIP: Use the "Add Manually" tool in My Bibliography to add citations to Interim Research Products to your My Bibliography.

What is My Bibliography?

eRA Commons has partnered with the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in providing My NCBI. My NCBI is a portal that retains user information and database preferences to provide customized services for many NCBI databases. It allows you to save searches from PubMed and other resources, select display formats, and set up automatic searches. My NCBI also includes My Bibliography and SciENcv.

My Bibliography is a tool to help investigators manage a list of citations to works such as journal articles; manuscripts accepted for publication; books and book chapters; meeting abstracts; conference papers; presentations; seminars; patents; and other research products. Investigators are required to use My Bibliography as of July 2010. See NOT-OD-10-103.

My Bibliography allows investigators to:  

  • populate citation data from PubMed, PubMed Central, and the NIH Manuscript Submission system (NIHMS)
  • associate NIH awards with their publications
  • determine whether their publications are compliant with the NIH Public Access Policy 
  • assign delegates to manage their bibliography
  • populate the Research Performance Progress Report (RPPR):  Section C - Products, C.1 Publications

Investigators must link My NCBI to their eRA Commons account to activate My Bibliography. 

GUIDANCE:

What is My NCBI?

My NCBI is a tool that retains user information and database preferences to provide customized services for many databases operated by the National Library of Medicine's National Center for Biotechnology Information, including PubMed, PubMed Central and SciENcv. It allows you to save searches, select display formats, filtering options, and set up automatic searches that are sent by e-mail. It includes the bibliography management system My Bibliography.

Boxes and Colored Dots: What do They Mean?

What Do the Padlocks Mean?

  Gold padlocks=Funding reported by NIHMS.

  Silver padlocks=Officially reported by eRA Commons.

Multiple awards from multiple PIs are often associated to works in My Bibliography.

If PIs need to add their award/s that were associated to a work, they should add the applicable award/s using the My Bibliography “Add Award” link below the citation. See: Associating Funding to your Publications

If PIs note any of their award/s are incorrectly associated to a work in My Bibliography and want to remove the association, they should remove the association using the My Bibliography "Add or Delete Award" link below the citation.

 

Some citations may have colored padlocks. A silver padlock indicates that work was officially reported on a progress report via eRA Commons.  A gold padlock indicates that the award was associated with the work via NIHMS.  See below guidance on how to remove the association if there is a padlock noted for a work.

Gold padlocks. Contact the NIHMS Help Desk to remove the association.

Silver padlocks.  Email the Public Access Policy Group  to remove the association. Include the award number, the citation information, including PMID, and your eRA Commons username. Once the lock is removed, remove the grant association by using the My Bibliography “Add or delete award” link below the citation.

See: Deleting Unwanted Citations

Assigning a Delegate

Delegates to help manage My Bibliography collections can be assigned. See Adding and Removing Delegates to add a delegate.

A delegate must have a My NCBI account to be a delegate, and must be logged in to their NCBI account before accepting an invitation to be a delegate. See Confirming a My Bibliography Connection for Delegates for more information.

Resources/FAQs

Delegates and My Bibliography

Are you a delegate for a PI's My Bibliography and not sure what to do?

Are there works that require a PMCID?

We offer "office calls."

We can provide informal, hands-on sessions to review My Bibliography, troubleshoot works with missing PMCIDs, and answer all your questions.

Please contact Cathy Sarli or Amy Suiter to arrange for a session.

Upcoming Session

Live Demo: NCBI My Bibliography

  • November 2, 2017
  • Farrell Learning and Teaching Center: Room 214
  • Noon to 1:00 pm.

Live Demo: NCBI My Bibliography Registration

Adding Citations for Publications and Research Products

Citations for journal articles and research products should be added to My Bibliography as soon as possible.

Why?

  • Monitor your compliance status with the NIH Public Access Policy for applicable works.
  • Auto-populate a SciENcv profile/biosketch with research products.
  • Generate a complete listing of all research products for the list to published works for the new NIH Biosketch format.

To add a citation to a research product in My Bibliography, select the blue "Add citation" button on the upper right of the main My Bibliography page.


From there, a drop-down menu box will appear and prompt you to add the citation for works from PubMed or manually enter the citation for works or research products not indexed by PubMed.

Guidance and Screenshots:

The Edit Status Function

The Edit Status function allows for noting why a work is not applicable under the NIH Policy. The Edit Status function appears below each publication noted in a My Bibliography account.

For more information, see Initiating Public Access Compliance.

Linking My Bibliography with an eRA Commons Account

The eRA icon should display on your My Bibliography page. If not, this means that your My Bibliography is not linked with your eRA Commons account.

Follow the directions as noted on Linking Your eRA Commons Account to My NCBI and My Bibliography  to link your My Bibliography with your eRA Commons account.

Display Settings

Confirm that your My Bibliography Display Settings are set to view in "Award" display. This will allow for display of compliance status for works.

What is the "Other Citations" Collection?

The Other Citations collection allows for a separate collection of citations using My NCBI in addition to My Bibliography. Investigators can use the Other Citations collection to track and report papers that they did not author, but arose from their NIH award. The Other Citations collection has the same reporting and compliance monitoring functions as a My Bibliography collection and the RPPR will display all publications from the My Bibliography and the Other Citations collections. Investigators can also generate a URL from an Other Citations collection for use on the NIH Biosketch. Either collection can used by investigators for managing their personal bibliography. 

Citations from a My Bibliography collection can be moved to an Other Citations collection, or vice versa, but not copied.

See Creating a Bibliography and Storing PubMed Records in Other Citations for more information.

Can An Award be Associated with a Work After Publication?

Can An Award be Associated with a Work After Publication?

The answer is YES.

Any applicable award/s can be retrospectively associated to a work using NCBI My Bibliography's “Add Award” OR "Edit Status" features noted in the box of the citation to the work.  See Associating Funding to your Publications.