Skip to main content
Becker Medical Library logotype
Library Quicklinks and Information

Quantifying the Impact of My Publications: Establishing Your Author Name and Presence

This libguide provides guidance on metrics and reports that can be used to quantify performance and impact based on publication data.

Why is Establishing Your Author Profile Important?

Your name as an author is key to establishing a unique public profile for enhancing your research and for attribution purposes. Authors should use the same variation of their name consistently throughout their academic and research careers.

Consistency of an author name enhances the discoverability of research.
Uniqueness of an author name establishes a presence for an author.

Establishing Your Author Profiles

How can authors find out if other authors have similar names? One tip is to do an author search in several databases such as PubMed, Scopus or Web of Science.

  • How many name variants are there for your name?
  • How many authors share your name?
  • How many authors with a similar name have publications in the same subject area?
  • Is it possible to distinguish publications from authors with similar names? 

If you find similarities in author names, consider adding your full middle name or using your middle initial to distinguish it from other authors.

There are several resources to help authors manage unique and consistent author names to ensure that their publications are associated with the correct author.

We highly recommend that authors create an ORCID ID, and check their profiles in Scopus, Web of Science and Google Scholar. An ORCID ID can be created using publication data from Scopus or Web of Science/Researcher ID. Authors may also want to consider creating a LinkedIn or Doximity profile. WUSM physicians are highly encouraged to claim their Doximity profiles.

LinkedIn

LinkedIn is a social/professional networking website for people in professional occupations, with privacy settings available. It is highly recommended that investigators or clinicians create a LinkedIn profile. Features of LinkedIn include:

  • Helpful resource for recruiting or job-seeking purposes.
  • Option to create a custom URL containing your name to your LinkedIn profile.

Doximity

Doximity is a professional networking site for U.S. physicians, medical students and clinically licensed healthcare professionals. As of February 2017, at least 70% of U.S. physicians have a claimed their Doximity profile. Features of Doximity include:

  • Profiles are viewable and searchable to allow you to connect with colleagues and classmates.
  • Upload your CV to allow for opportunities for networking or job-seeking purposes (or you can send your CV to Doximity, cvupload@doximity.com, to upload for you).
  • Add clinical specialties and interests, and information about other profiles.
  • Research and compare residency programs.

WUSM physicians are strongly encouraged to claim their Doximity profiles. Why?

NCBI My Bibliography

NCBI My Bibliography

The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information. Among the resources included are PubMed, PubMed Central, genomic tools, registries, databases, among others. My NCBI is a dashboard that retains user information and database preferences to provide customized services for NCBI databases/resources. My Bibliography is one of the many tools offered via the My NCBI dashboard page. As of 2010, investigators/authors (funded by NIH or planning to seek funding) are required to use a My Bibliography account to manage their citations to publications and other research products.  Citations to journal articles indexed by PubMed can be pulled into a My Bibliography collection and templates are available for all other publication types and research products.

Examples of citations to publications and other work products that can be included in My Bibliography are:

  • Journal articles from PubMed
  • Non-PubMed journal articles
  • Books/chapters
  • Meeting abstracts and posters
  • Patents
  • Dataset or database
  • Software
  • Presentations

One of the features of My Bibliography is a URL link that allows for linking to the list of publications and research products noted in a My Bibliography collection. The link to the list of publications in a My Bibliography collection mirrors a list of results in PubMed and if users are affiliated with an institution that has a subscription to the journal or if the work is in PubMed Central, users can read the full text of the work. The collection is dynamically updated when investigators/authors (or their delegates) add new citations to their publications and other research products.

Example: Cathy Sarli’s My Bibliography

Google Scholar

Authors are highly recommended to establish a Google Scholar profile. For more reasons why and the options available, see Using Google Scholar in Scholarly Workflows by Jonathan Eisen.

Google Scholar  allows authors to:

  • Create a public profile that appears in Google Scholar results when someone searches for your name. Privacy settings for the Google Scholar profile are controlled by the individual.

  • Track citations to check who is citing your publications, especially gray literature materials which are not usually indexed by databases.

  • Citation metric tools to use for reporting purposes.

Set up your profile in Google Scholar

Biosketch

Another means of establishing your name and "presence" is to make your NIH Biosketch publicly available for others to view. NCBI offers a tool, SciENcv, that allows for creation of a NIH Biosketch that can be made publicly available. See the SciENcv tab for more information.

ORCID

ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes authors from other authors and, through integration in key research workflows such as manuscript and grant submission, supports automated linkages between authors and their professional activities ensuring that their work is recognized.

ORCID is linked among other identifier systems such as the Scopus Author ID, ResearcherID and LinkedIn; publishers such as Nature and APS; and funding agencies such as NIH and the Wellcome Trust (see the SciENCV tab for more information about ORCID integration with NIH). This means that ORCID is not limited to a specific platform and is a non-proprietary means of establishing your author name.

Your name is key to establishing a unique public profile throughout your research and academic career for publications and research activities. But if your name is a common name or if you have changed your name, or if you are affiliated with several organizations over your career, there may be multiple name variants associated with your publications and research activities.

ORCID provides a universal, non-proprietary solution by linking your publications/research activities to you.

Registering for an ORCID identifier helps to promote discoverability among multiple information platforms and workflows as well as establishing a unique presence for researchers and scholars, regardless of name variants or affiliation history.

Registration for the ORCID iD is free and privacy settings are controlled by the individual. To register, complete a short registration form and select Register.

See the ORCID materials for more information:

The Delegate Feature

ORCID has a delegate feature available to help with managing ORCID accounts. "Trusted Individuals" can be added as delegates to an ORCID account to allow for editing and updating of an ORCID account and profile. Note that Trusted Individuals must register for an ORCID account. 

More information:

Scopus Author Identifier

  

The Author Identifier Tool in Scopus allows users to locate a particular author by entering the author’s last name, full first name and a middle initial, as well as the current affiliation of the author. Results will return a main author name along with variants of the author's name that have been grouped into an author profile and associated publications for that author. The SCOPUS database addresses the issue of author ambiguation and reconciles authors who use different variations of their names throughout their careers. Authors are highly recommended to review their profile in SCOPUS to confirm the profile is correct, and set up alerts for their works.

Scopus is ORCID compliant allowing users to associate publications from their Scopus Author Profiles to ORCID profiles.

Importing Your Works from Scopus to ORCID
Users can use Scopus to populate the publication section of the ORCID profile. The Scopus to ORCID wizard helps you find the correct Scopus profile and confirm which publications are yours. You can then send the identifier and list of publications to the ORCID website. Any changes you make in the wizard will also be submitted to the Scopus Feedback team to correct your profile on Scopus.

  1. Create an ORCID iD
  2. Click on “Import Research Activities"
  3. Choose the Scopus to ORCID wizard to start importing publications

NOTE:

For users that do not have access to the Scopus database, the Author Identifer Tool can be used by non-subscribers. Use the free Author Identifier Tool to search for an author name to reconcile name variants and/or affiliations and publications.

ResearcherID

ResearcherID provides a solution to the author ambiguity problem within the scholarly research community. Each member is assigned a unique identifier to enable researchers to manage their publication lists, track their times cited counts and h-index, identify potential collaborators and avoid author variant issues. Privacy settings for the ResearcherID profile are controlled by the individual and authors are highly recommended to make their their ResearcherID profile publicly available.

ResearcherID information is integrated with the Web of Science database and is ORCID compliant, allowing users to associate publications from Web of Science to ORCID profiles.

Registration for ResearcherID is free.

ResearcherID members are able to register and link to ORCID profiles from their ResearcherID Profile.