Skip to main content
Becker Medical Library logotype
Library Quicklinks and Information

The Female Body in History - A Guide to the Becker's Holdings: About the Library

Gynecology and obstetrics is one of the key collection strengths in Archives and Rare Books. The Becker’s holdings on this topic cover a broad span of time, from the 16th to 20th centuries, and include atlases, texts, and dictionaries.

Our Mission

Library Mission

The mission of the Becker Medical Library is to provide information resources and technology in support of the educational, research and patient care objectives of the School of Medicine.

Who We Serve

The Bernard Becker Medical Library serves the Washington University School of Medicine, the Barnes-Jewish Hospital, and the St. Louis Children's Hospital.

Hours and Access

Mon - Thurs: 7:30am - 12am
Fri: 7:30am - 10pm
Sat: 8:30am - 6pm
Sun: 12pm - 12am

* Access to the library is restricted on weekdays after 6 pm and all day on Saturdays and Sundays.

On November 1, 2008, the Becker Medical Library implemented the use of an ID card scanner for entrance to the Library after regular business hours. Patrons need a valid ID badge for access after 6 pm on weekdays and all day Saturday and Sunday. ID badges from the Washington University School of Medicine, Washington University Danforth Campus, BJC (Barnes, Jewish, and Children’s Hospital) and St. Louis College of Pharmacy provide evening and weekend access.

The Becker Library is open to all users Monday through Friday, 7:30 am to 6:00 pm. Patrons without a validated ID badge may call 314-362-7085 with a cell phone, or call 2-7085 from the lobby phone, to request entry to Becker Medical Library during access controlled hours.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

ILLiad is the electronic system for requesting Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery Services.


Logon to ILL

Use ILLiad to

  • Request materials not owned by the Library (interlibrary loan)
  • Request photocopies of articles owned by Becker Medical Library (document delivery)
  • Revise or check status ofyour requests
  • Renew Interlibrary Loan
  • Update your ILLiad account information

Affiliated Libraries

Family Resource Center - St. Louis Children’s Hospital
St. Louis Children’s Hospital
One Children’s Place
Third Floor, Room 3 S-12
314-454-2350


St. Louis Children’s Hospital Medical Library
St. Louis Children’s Hospital
One Children’s Place
Third Floor, Suite 3N-34
314-454-2768

Archives and Rare Books


The Archives and Rare Books section of the Bernard Becker Medical Library is home to one of the nation's finest collections of historical medical materials. The Archives specializes in materials and institutional records relating to the history of Washington University School of Medicine and its affiliated institutions. The nine distinct Rare Books Collections total approximately 22,000 books and journals and cover major authors and ideas from classical antiquity to the present.


Archives and Rare Books Homepage