Skip to main content
Becker Medical Library logotype
Library Quicklinks and Information

Consumer Health: Specific Topics and Age Groups

This guide provides consumers, patients, families, caregivers, and the general public with links to reliable and freely available health information.

Diseases and Conditions

AIDS.gov

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services provides current information on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention, and research in both Spanish and English.

Alzheimer's Association

Information for those diagnosed with Alzheimer’s, caregivers and health professionals make this the comprehensive resource on Alzheimer’s Disease. Fact sheets, information on diagnosis and management, planning ahead, a glossary and information in Spanish, Korean and Chinese are also useful.

American Cancer Society

Get the facts about cancer, staying healthy and preventing cancer, support, treatment, and research.

American Diabetes Association

Offers basic diabetes education as well as recipes, exercises, insurance information, and practical advice for managing a healthy lifestyle with diabetes.

American Heart Association

Includes information on heart disease, heart conditions, CPR, a Heart and Stroke Encyclopedia, and heart-healthy lifestyle tips  

Asthma and Allergy Foundation of America

Information, advocacy, research, information on local chapters and support groups and  "Ask the Allergist" email feature make this an extremely useful website. Also included are a pollen count by zip code feature, and information on clinical trials and new treatments.

Breast Cancer

Features a range of authoritative fact sheets, posters, and other materials from a number of government agencies including the the National Cancer Institute, National Breast Cancer Coalition Fund, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (U.S.)

National Cancer Institute

Information on over 200 cancer types, including prevention, causes, screening, testing, clinical trials, and statistics; links to support groups and resources

National Diabetes Information Clearinghouse

Introductory material on diabetes, treatment, and complications as well as an alphabetical listing of topics and titles; some material is designated as Easy to Read

National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke

Provides a comprehensive encyclopedia of neurological disorders; includes definitions, treatments, prognosis, research, clinical trials, and links to organizations 

Sickle Cell Disease Association of America

Get the facts about sickle cell disease from this organization that works to educate the public about sickle cell disease and strives to  improve the quality of health, life, and services for families and communities affected by it.

Your Orthopaedic Connection (American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons)

Colorfully illustrated patient information is presented by body site and by category. Information on injury prevention, osteoarthritis, sports and exercise, joint replacement and tumors are covered thoroughly. Extensive Spanish language factsheets are provided as well as some information in Japanese, Portuguese, and Thai.

 

Disclaimer

The links on these pages have been carefully selected by the staff at the Becker Medical Library to assist you in finding quality health information. These links are provided for general informational purposes only. Please do not use these resources as a substitute for consulting with your doctor.

Age and Gender Specific Resources

Children and Teens

Healthychildren.org

The American Academy of Pediatrics provides extensive information about health topics, diseases and conditions, child development, and child safety. Audiofiles and print material are included.

Adults and Seniors

AARP: Health

Includes sections on conditions, diseases, healthy living, and long-term care.  Content includes all that is in the magazine and more. 

Bam! Body and Mind:  Health Information for Young People

The CDC created this site for kids 9-13 years old to give them the facts to make healthy lifestyle choices. Includes games, quizzes, and interactive features.

National Women's Health Information Center

Provides original health information on special topics such as pregnancy, breastfeeding, girl's health, and body image. 

GirlsHealth

This site from the U.S. Office of Women's Health helps girls (ages 10-16) learn about health issues and growing up. The focus is on positive messages and reliable information.

Men's Health

A short guide to free trusted sites which focus on or include men's health topics; maintained by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

KidsHealth

Information about health, behavior, and development from before birth through the teen years.  Sections for parents, for kids, for teens, and for educators.  Content is reviewed by pediatricians and other medical experts.

NIDA for Teens

The NIDA for Teens Web site helps educate adolescents ages 11 through 15 (as well as their parents and teachers) on the science behind drug abuse.

HHS Office of Adolescent Health

OAH collects and disseminates information on adolescent health to the public and to health professionals. It works in partnership with other HHS agencies to support evidence-based approaches to improve the health of adolescents and monitors trends in adolescent health.

Child and Adolescent Psychiatry  Click on Facts for Families

Between 7 and 12 million American youth suffer from mental, behavioral, or developmental disorders. Families dealing with these issues will find help here. Links take users to information on helping children cope with disasters, deal with pop culture, treat attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), and understand psychiatric medications.

NIH Senior Health

Health and wellness information relevant to older adults.  Health topics can be found alphabetically or by category.  Options for larger font, contrast adjustment, and hearing the text read aloud.

Parents and Caregivers - CHEC

The Children's Health Education Center provides resources for parents to help keep their children healthy and safe.

The AGS Foundation for Health in Aging

The American Geriatrics Society Foundation website offers information on the health and care of older adults. The site also provides a directory of guides to federal government agencies and national not-for-profit organizations that address the special health care needs of older adults.

CDC's Healthy Aging

This CDC website has statistics and research information, a copy of the latest State of Aging and Health in America report, information on the Healthy Brain Initiative, lists of organizations, information on end of life issues, and links to other articles and reports.