The images are presented in a digital, case-based format that allows both the images and text to be searched, cross-referenced, and hyper-linked to other cases as well as other educational resources, including Hematology, the Society's annual meeting Education Program Book, the ASH Teaching Cases and the syllabus from the ASH Self-Assessment Program. In addition to the case studies, the Image Bank includes a collection of basic atlas images.
Permission to use Images and written content from the Image Bank is granted without further action by the Society, provided that (1) the below copyright notice appears in all copies, (2) use of such Images and written content from the Image Bank is for informational and non-commercial or personal use only and such Images and content will not be made publicly available, copied or posted on any network computer or broadcast in any media, and (3) no modifications of any Images and/or written content are made. In addition, accredited educational institutions, such as K-12, universities, private/public colleges, and state community colleges, are granted permission to download and reproduce the Images and written content from the Image Bank for distribution in the classroom. Distribution or use by such educational institutions for any other purpose is expressly prohibited and requires express written permission from the Society.
Emphasis is placed on showing and describing the clinical picture and its various stages as it is seen in photographs and by ancillary tests, rather than giving a detailed overview of the whole disease. Presently the Atlas contains about 2,500 pictures. Use of the atlas is free of charge as long as it is used for educational purposes.
The copying of material, either with modifications or adaptations, and its subsequent distribution, is permitted with three conditions: that it is not used for commercial purposes, that the source of the material is clearly indicated, and that users register so that documentation of re-use can be provided to the sponsors of the project.
Over 800 hematological slides depicting various blood disorders and malignancies. Published by Carden Jennings Publishing Co., Ltd. Images are from Jean Shafer, Assistant Professor of Medicine, Rochester School of Medicine.
The CDC welcomes public health professionals, the media, laboratory scientists, educators, students, and the worldwide public to use this material for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages. The content is organized into hierarchical categories of people, places, and science, and is presented as single images, image sets, and multimedia files.
DermIS.net is the largest dermatology information service available on the internet. It offers elaborate image atlases (DOIA and PeDOIA) complete with diagnoses and differential diagnoses, case reports & additional information on almost all skin diseases.
The project is a collaboration between the Dept. of Clinical Social Medicine (Univ. of Heidelberg) and the Dept. of Dermatology (Univ. of Erlangen). Images may be reproduced, with attribution, for some non-profit, educational uses and research papers.
Each image is digitally watermarked and publishing in any format or posting the pictures on a web site requires written permission. Published by the National Health Museum, a non-profit organization founded by former U.S. Surgeon General C. Everett Koop as a national center for health education.
DPDx is a web site developed and maintained by the CDC’s Division of Parasitic Diseases (DPD) with the goal of using the Internet to strengthen diagnosis of parasitic diseases, both in the United States and abroad.
The Parasite Image Library provides access to all images in the DPDx site. Most of the material is free of copyright and users are welcome to store and copy material in the public domain with attribution of the source.
HONmedia is a repository of over 6,800 medical images and videos, pertaining to 1,700 topics and themes. All the images from the HONmedia database have been selected and indexed according to the MeSH medical classification system. Each image's origin is clearly identified and the images are never saved locally on the HON server. HONmedia accesses all images directly from the server of origin. The author can, at any time, request HON to remove their images from HONmedia. HON encourages users to make their own image links available via the "Submit an image" service.
Includes both electronic anatomically labeled three-dimensional atlas of the human brain created from MRI images and anatomically labeled stained sections that correspond to the three-dimensional MRI images. From Michigan State University.
Part of the Brain Biodiversity Bank at Michigan State University. The Brain Biodiversity Bank refers to the repository of images of and information about brain specimens contained in the collections associated with the National Museum of Health and Medicine at the Armed Forces Institute of Pathology in Washington, DC. These collections include, besides the Michigan State University Collection, the Welker Collection from the University of Wisconsin, the Yakovlev-Haleem Collection from Harvard University, the Meyer Collection from the Johns Hopkins University, and the Huber-Crosby and Crosby-Lauer Collections from the University of Michigan.
MedEdPORTAL was designed to promote educational collaboration by facilitating the open exchange of peer-reviewed teaching resources such as tutorials, virtual patients, simulation cases, lab guides, videos, podcasts, assessment tools, etc. While MedEdPORTAL's primary audiences include health educators and learners around the globe, it is open and available for free to the general public. Users can access quality, peer-reviewed teaching material and assessment tools in both the basic and clinical sciences in medicine and in oral health.
With MedEdPORTAL, users can download or access the majority of the published resources directly from the website. Published authors retain their original copyrights and indicate on the MedEdPORTAL website how others may use the materials.
Radiologists often keep files of interesting cases for sharing with residents and colleagues or for use in slides or publications. MyPACS allows "radiologists to immediately begin authoring cases through their web browser, while maintaining complete control over the content and accessibility of their own collection." This is a free service to the international community.
MyPACS.net is offered by McKesson Medical Imaging Group as a result of the McKesson acquisition of Vivalog LLC in May 2008. Their mission is to help clinicians share knowledge through the use of content management technology. This service was funded in part by a Small Business Innovative Research grant from the National Institute of Mental Health.
A collaboration funded by the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) to produce and make available over the internet a three-dimensional image reference of the Human Embryo based on magnetic resonance imaging.
The collection of images is intended to serve students, researchers, clinicians, and the general public interested in studying and teaching human development.
Magnetic resonance microscopy (MRM) was performed at the Center for In-vivo Microscopy at Duke University. Image processing and data management was performed at the School of Art and Design, University of Michigan.
The use of images from this resource is limited, however, to non-profit educational activities. Copyright and usage information statements are linked from within the textual information associated with each image contained in the digital library.
Surgical Procedure video categories include Blood, Heart and Circulation; Bones, Joints, and Muscles; Cancers; Brain and Nerves; Digestive System; Men’s Health, Women’s Health and more. Videos require use of either RealPlayer or Flash, depending upon the production date.
Includes over 1,900 images along with text, tutorials, laboratory exercises, and examination items for self-assessment that demonstrate gross and microscopic pathologic findings associated with human disease conditions.
Selected from the UK's leading teaching hospitals and research institutions, it covers disease, surgery, general healthcare, sciences from genetics to neuroscience including the full range of imaging techniques. Images on this site are freely available for download for personal, academic teaching or study use, under one of two Creative Commons licenses.
Includes clinical information. From Harvard Medical School. Portions of the atlas may be individually downloaded, copied, and cited for the personal and educational purposes of individuals and organizations in their work, provided that proper attribution and context are given.